national records in running - women

National Records in Running – Women

We’ve previously covered Men’s national records in running events.

When we talk about Indian sportswomen, our heads automatically turn towards the likes of Sania Mirza, Saina Nehwal, Mary Kom, Karnam Malleshwari and so on.

The first name that pops into our minds when speaking of track events, is PT Usha.

Her achievements in track events is impeccable. So much so, that her name is used as a metaphor for speed in India.

Like that of men’s category in running, India’s female roster falls shy of the international glory and acclamation. Yes, we’ve had some fantastic runners in the past, but the number of athletes to get to the very top have been very few. Though the resources and training equipment falls short in our country, the enthusiasm, determination and passion never seems to die. That is one thing we can be proud of and be optimistic about the future endeavours in the sport of running.

Keeping in mind the many female athletes that make us proud with their performances on the field, we take a look at the national records set by our female athletes in stunning events.

indian runner record holder dutee chand100m – Dutee Chand – 11.24 secs

Onky the third Indian woman to qualify for the Women’s 100 meters event at the Olympics (Rio). Chand is the current national champ. Her initial record came during the 2016 Federation Cup National Athletics Championship in New Delhi. Chand later broke the record by clicking 11.24 secs at the XVI International Meeting G Kosanov Memorial in Almaty, Kazakhstan.

indian record holder sarswati saha200m – Saraswati Saha – 22.82m

An Arjuna Award winner, Olympian and an Asian Gold medalist. Saraswati Saha now holds the national record in 200m at 22.82 secs set at the National Circuit Athletics Meet in Ludhiana in August 2002. Saha also became only the first Indian woman to break the 23 sec barrier in 200 metres. Nearly 15 years later, today, the record still stands.

indian running record holder manjeet kaur400m – Manjeet Kaur – 51.05 secs

One of the more decorated indian runners with gold medals in Asian Championships, Asian Games and Commonwealth Games. Kaur set the national record of 51.05 at the National Circuit Athletics Meet in Chennai in June 2004. This gave Kaur a qualification to the 2004 Athens Olympics. Kaur holds the joint national record in 4×400m as well.

indian running record holder Tintu Lukka800m – Tintu Lukka – 1:59.17

Gold medalist in Asian Games and Asian Championships. Luka’s record came at the Continental Cup, Croatia in 2010 breaking Shiny Wilson’s record at 1:59.85.

running record holder sunita rani1500m – Sunita Rani – 4:06.03

Another Arjuna Award winner. Rani set the national record of 4:06.03 at the Asian Games in 2002. Rani received a Padma Shri for her achievements. Sunita Rani now serves as SP in Punjab Police.

running record holder Suriya Loganathan3000m – Suriya Loganathan – 9:04.5

Loganathan’s record came on 24 April 2016 in New Delhi.

Although, the event was surrounded with speculation since electronic timing was rendered useless by a blackout during the event.

indian runner record holder preeja sreedharan5000m – Preeja Sreedharan – 15:15.89

Yet another Arjuna Award winner and an Asian Games gold medalist. Sreedharan set the record for the 5000m at the Asian Games in Guangzhou, China in 2010. Sreedharan finished in the 2nd position.

10000m – Preeja Sreedharan – 31:50.47

Finishing first in the 2010 Asian Games 10000m event and finishing it in style when Sreedharan set the record standing at 31:50.47

indian runner record holder lalita babarHalf Marathon – Lalita Babar – 1:10:52

Arjuna Award seems to be the pattern here which Babar received in 2016. Babar’s record came at the coveted Delhi Half Marathon in November 2015.

indian runner record holder O. P. JaisaMarathon – O. P. Jaisha – 2:34:43

An Asian Games medal winner. Jaisha set the national record in the women’s marathon at the World Athletics Championship in August 2015 in Beijing, China. Jaisha finished the event with a time of 2:34:43 followed by her Indian fellow runners Sudha Singh. Though, Jaisha’s attempts weren’t enough to win the event, she did break the national record.